Home

Ruggero Schleicher-Tappeser

consultant & writer

  • Assessment of technologies and innovation strategies in the context of global challenges

  • European cooperation, intercultural and interdisciplinary communication

working languages: German, English, Italian, French

D – 10779 BERLIN, Berchtesgadener Str. 8
+49-176-4306030, ruggero@schleicher-tappeser.eu

Born in 1952, I mainly grew up in northern Italy where my father worked in a European nuclear research centre. After my degree in physics in Switzerland with one of the climate modelling pioneers, I worked as journalist and consultant on energy issues and was member of the board of the Swiss Energy Foundation.

Moving to Germany in 1985, I turned to research on regional policies in a European context, focusing on sustainable innovation and transport. For fifteen years I was founder and director of the EURES Institute for Regional Studies in Europe in Freiburg/Germany. Later, I served as Acting Secretary General of the Alpine Convention, an international treaty for the sustainable development of the Alpine area. 

Back as consultant in the energy debate in 2008, I focused on renewable energies, photovoltaics and grid issues. Highlights were advising the German government in the foundation process of IRENA, and the moderation of a national dialogue on distribution grids. More recently I analysed the consequences of disruptive developments in transport technologies.

Wanting to get more directly involved in industry, 2013-2015 I coordinated a high-level European industrial initiative for establishing a Gigawatt scale production of PV cells and modules. 2015-2020 I was co-founder and co-director of a start-up specialising in silicon carbide technologies. 

Today I am concentrating on the assessment of technologies and innovation strategies in the context of global challenges and on writing more generally on technology, society and nature.

Home

Ruggero Schleicher-Tappeser

Berater & Publizist

  • Bewertung von Technologien und Innovationsstrategien im Kontext globaler Herausforderungen

  • Europäische Zusammenarbeit, interkulturelle und interdisziplinäre Kommunikation

Arbeitssprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Italienisch, Französisch

D – 10779 BERLIN, Berchtesgadener Str. 8
+49-176-4306030, ruggero@schleicher-tappeser.eu

Geboren 1952, wuchs ich hauptsächlich in Norditalien auf, wo mein Vater in einem europäischen Kernforschungszentrum arbeitete. Nach meinem Physikstudium in der Schweiz bei einem der Pioniere der Klimamodellierung arbeitete ich als Journalist und Berater zu Energiefragen und war Mitglied des Vorstands der Schweizerischen Energiestiftung.

Nach meinem Umzug nach Deutschland im Jahr 1985 wandte ich mich der Forschung über Regionalpolitik im europäischen Kontext zu, wobei ich mich auf nachhaltige Innovationen und Verkehrspolitik konzentrierte. Fünfzehn Jahre lang war ich Gründer und Direktor des EURES-Instituts für regionale Studien in Europa in Freiburg/Deutschland. Später war ich amtierender Generalsekretär der Alpenkonvention, eines internationalen Abkommens zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung des Alpenraums. 

2008 kehrte ich als Berater in die Energiedebatte zurück und konzentrierte mich auf erneuerbare Energien, Photovoltaik und Netzfragen. Höhepunkte waren die Beratung der deutschen Regierung im Gründungsprozess von IRENA und die Moderation eines nationalen Dialogs zu Verteilnetzen. In jüngerer Zeit habe ich die Folgen disruptiver Entwicklungen im Bereich der Verkehrstechnologien analysiert.

Um mich unmittelbarer in der Industrie einzubringen, koordinierte ich 2013-2015 eine hochrangige europäische Industrieinitiative zum Aufbau einer Gigawatt-Produktion von PV-Zellen und -Modulen. 2015-2020 war ich Mitbegründer und Mitgeschäftsführer eines auf Siliziumkarbid-Technologien spezialisierten Start-ups. 

Heute konzentriere ich mich auf die Bewertung von Technologien und Innovationsstrategien im Zusammenhang mit globalen Herausforderungen und schreibe zu Fragen von Technologie, Gesellschaft und Natur.